Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Back In The Hammock

More birds and some shrimp

Randy and I went to town today and ended up eating our way across South Carolina Southern style for sure. We started with a trip to Summerville’s Vicious Biscuit, a very truly Southern treat. I went full vicious and had the “Vicious” (for the non locals, that's a giant jalapeño and cheddar biscuit with a fried chicken breast covered in maple sausage gravy, candied jalapeños and cheese. It was scrumptious and the best part was finishing the top of the biscuit slathered with blackberry jam and maple bourbon butter. Randy and I were so full, I thought we wouldn't need to eat the rest of the day. We dropped my “Forgiven” painting off at the Santee Canal Museum in Moncks Corner for the Berkeley Artist Guild Show. Wow! What a beautiful place! There are so many fun places to explore around here.

After we took in the rich history and nature, we went back to Summerville to finish the rest of our errands. Then it was back up the Dorchester to pick up our little girl. And wouldn't you know it, we were hungry again. We decided to go to a little"juke joint” down the road that was having a fish fry, but we were too late. They were all fried out. So it was on the the edge of Ridgeville to Krab Krazy, a place we were originally leary of but found to be quite tasty indeed. I don’t know why businesses around here think it’s clever to mispell words in their name. Their shrimp is so good, I can forgive their folly. Well, since my light breakfast was wearing off, I skimmed right past the salads and decided to tty yey another take on shrimp and grits.

Essentially, shrimp and grits is an iconic Southern delicacy with West African influences. This iconic dish combines creamy grits under a delicious savory sauce topped with well-seasoned succulent shrimp.

There is no such thing as light shrimp and grits, but this version was heftier than usual. This dish boasted a fried grit patty (somehow that seemed intriging at the time). It paired well with the fried shrimp, and although I didn’t eat all the grits, I did eat everything else. Driving home, we all contiplated where we would take our naps. I claimed my hammock, of course.


Which brings us to the title of my post. Back home, I navigated through the animal gauntlet to my favorite blue hammock and got situated. I always hop in with a bit of a swing, which is difficult because I have to be sure and not swing into the old dogs who are ALWAYS in the way. But swinging is so satisfying, I must try it. After my swinging slowed, I noticed tapping. I looked up at the tree to see a little bird flitting and jumping at the bird feeder. At first, I thought he was on the opposite side of the feeder, but no. As you can see from the video above, my little friend had somehow capture himself inside the feeder. Poor little guy. His mouth was open like he had been struggling to get out for some time. I picked the feeder out of the tree. The wild cat that adopted us was all too eager to help me release the bird, so I carried the feeder far from his grasp and opened the lid slowly. The little bird didn't waste a second and flew straight out of site. Enough excitement, now back to my hammock.

0 Comments
JADEDjoyologist’s Newsletter
Authors
Sheila Preston-Ford