Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Garden and chicken update

Nevermind the elephant in the room

Here is a little update on my garden. I know I didn't mention the absurd collection of old bathtubs and uber tacky accessories. It just sort of evolved. The old house we purchased had three tubs in the backyard as planters which I abhorred and declared far too tacky to stay. So we emptied them and drug them to the back until they could be disposed of. After months of warming up to the notion that the house provides, I started appreciating their drainage and pest resistant features. I watched a video on viviculture (worm composting) where they used a tub and that's where my guard went down. Once you are using one tub, you've breeched your standards. When it came time to plant, I made one shoddy metal planter with some difficulty and the tubs started looking pretty good. Then we tore down an old trailer and I bumped up to five tubs. At this point, who am I kidding? Better Homes and Gardens are never coming. So I embraced the salvaged look and doubled down with a couple of sinks. The flower pop really makes me smile. As everything was starting to come up and looking pretty darn good, a friend gave me two additional tomato plants. Well, I was out of tubs, but the house had provided a dizzying collection of old ice chests. Mini Tubs! At this point it is an artistic statement and I roll out the next addition. Those tomatoes are actually doing better than my original ones and never mind the Coke bottles. They add detail. My husband added the beer bottle. Gardening is thirsty work. I put another ice chest between two tubs and that one has a bottle opener; form meets function. There you have it, a perfectly reasonable choice.

0 Comments
JADEDjoyologist’s Newsletter
Authors
Sheila Preston-Ford