Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Livin' The Life

Country Style

Well, tropical storm Nicole passed and left us with a lovely Saturday. Randy and I spent the day exploring and hunting for new and exciting mushrooms.

A little rain brought a whole new batch of fungi.

Share JADEDjoyologist’s Newsletter

As the evening approached, Randy decreed that we were going deer hunting. He keeps raving about how peaceful it is and how much I would enjoy helping him bird watch. It had been such a delightful day and I was all excited about my mushroom finds that I was happy to oblige.

Not a bad view.

He wasn't too impressed with my scouting technique as I drank my beer, ate ice cream and worked on my Bible study, but as darkness fell and I assumed it was time to go home he whispered that there were deer right in front of us. I was surprised, because we had been gazing across the pond the whole time and I didn't expect the deer to come to us. This is where I totally redeem myself as a hunting partner. I turned my camera on and captured the most lovely scene as a deer family pranced across our view in a golden silhouette. I could see the hesitation in Randy's eyes as a mama deer led two fawns in view. They were too cute to shoot. The locals have told us that there are too many does so it is actually good for the herd to cull some females. Another doe approached and either heard or smelled us. She snorted and turned around alerting the group to our presence. I kept filming even though I couldn't see what was going on. Randy still had eyes on the deer that stopped not far off. His shot startled me. We went looking for the trail (I've had a bit of experience bird dogging as you can see in our last hunting post)

JADEDjoyologist’s Newsletter
The Mighty Hunter Part 2
Watch now (5 min) | Some of you may have seen the saga of my husband's hunting trials in my previous post, where our dogs and cat molested his feed plot. Luckily, he has a second spot they haven’t notice yet. For all intents and purposes, everyone is Tom and my mighty hunter is sharing his first South Carolina hunting adventure (in our backyard). I woke up to a gunshot thi…
Read more

I was pretty sure he missed the whole thing (don't tell him). I mean, it was dark out there. Was I surprised when we spotted a blood trail. Randy's pretty good at this hunting stuff. Looks like we will eat well this winter.

Now it is time to update Tom (or all the viewers) on Randy's kill. For all the Toms who don't know why they are Tom, Randy's good friend and hunting partner lives in Colorado and wanted Randy to share his hunting adventures. I hope you all enjoy.

Leave a comment

0 Comments
JADEDjoyologist’s Newsletter
Authors
Sheila Preston-Ford