Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Looking Down

On Some Decomposers

While enjoying the outdoors and painting mushrooms I found some insects busy at work. Nitro and I checked out their progress. This video shows some of my progress on my latest mushroom studies. My collection is off to a good start.

The interconnected web of life, or the circle of life is so complex. There are different ways of describing the roles in these cycles. My favorite description is the simplified categories of producers, consumers and decomposers. Of course, we human types are consumers. We like to put ourselves at the top of all the food chains, but without producers there wouldn't be much for us. Let's not forget those important little guys, the decomposers. Without them we would be in some pretty deep, um, trouble. My grandma, who loved and appreciated all God's creation, once said she didn't understand what purpose God had for ants. I share her disdain, but it turns out ants are doing the dirty work for all of us. Along with the other decomposers, they clean up all the dead. Could you imagine what a mess we would have if all the dead flora and fauna and their waste just piled up for eternity? Gross. My mushroom friends vary in category. Some are producers, symbiotically bennefiting the forest and some are consumers sucking the life out of trees like parasites. Most fungi are decomposers, breaking down dead and dying life forms and turning them into something that will go back into the cycle. Pretty neat stu

Leave a comment

Share JADEDjoyologist’s Newsletter

0 Comments
JADEDjoyologist’s Newsletter
Authors
Sheila Preston-Ford