Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Pressed For Time

Let's waste some time together
Transcript

No transcript...

I don't know what it is with me lately, but I have had a hard time getting to any of my art guild’s painting field trips. Last time they went to Mepkin Abby I looked forward to it for weeks and then forgot all about it. Last week they went again and I was determined to get there this time. Or so I told myself. Through a series of distractions, I found myself hopeless delayed. Should I skip it? No. I decided I could still make it, at least part of it. I put the location it my map, 54 minutes away! Damn. Oh well, here goes nothing. Well, something. At least I was going.

The drive was beautiful and inspiring. Every turn looked like a painting, as the rain let up and the sun speckled through the trees. I wasted no time (finally) when I got there. I parked as close to my favorite place and scurried out with my camera and painting supplies

.
No, this is not me. I snapped a shot of accomplished plein aire painter, Mary Hoffman, as I settled in. I always love how poised she looks while painting with such great posture. No easel for me, just a bag with a sketchbook. I found an interesting tree and sat down in the grass. I set a timer so as not to loose track of time (again) and forget to pick up my daughter.

Share

The time goes so fast. It was worth the struggle and I am glad I finally got out of my way and spent some time creating. That felt good. I am so happy to be part of the Summerville Artist Guild the fellowship and encouragement are so enriching. Sometimes as an artist, I get busy and distracted and don’t put the time aside to create. This group of artists remind me to paint and give myself permission to create.

Tree at Mepkin Abby Watercolor by Sheila Preston-Ford

0 Comments
JADEDjoyologist’s Newsletter
JADEDjoyologist’s Newsletter
Authors
Sheila Preston-Ford
Recent Posts